The Royal Peasant Pub

I’m starting to think that Monday’s are just not cook days.  I think it could be the fact that it’s the longest day in the week for both Alec and I but cooking never seems to happen.  Okay, that’s a lie.  It usually happens.  But today, it just wasn’t happening.  Instead, we ate at the Royal Peasant, a little English inspired pub in the Five Points area of Athens.  I’ve been wanting to try this place after a few friends recommended it and tonight just seemed to be the night!

What can I say?  I had my “wellies” on, an over-sized “jumper,” it’s been English weather all day, and some fish and chips would hit the spot.

Okay, I’m ending the bad English vernacular.  Just doesn’t jive.

Courtesy of this Flickr since the restaurant’s website didn’t have a picture.

The outside of the pub is quite plain but if there’s one thing that a lifetime of food consumption has shown me, the most simple place has the best food.  We arrived a little early for dinner so it wasn’t packed or anything – just a few other customers were partaking in the food that the Royal Peasant had to offer.  The place is a little on the small side – seven tables on the inside, eight tables on the outside, and I think about fifteen chairs at the bar.  Tiny.  Don’t believe me?  Here’s a sneaky picture I snapped while trying to be . . . sneaky.

We were on the opposite side of the building.  The picture is taken so that you can [kinda] see the other side of the building.  These are all the inside tables, all seven of them.  It’s a small place but it’s cozy with a dark wood furniture and bar, a dark red wall color, and a little bit of sports paraphernalia here and there.

I’m not going to lie – this is definitely a pub and not a restaurant.  It’s all about the beer and the football, both American and the rest of the World’s versions.  The menu is only a page long – appetizers, meals, desserts, and nonalcoholic drinks included – but the money is accompanied with a smaller page of just the available beers.

It was intense.

Being not-of-age, I can’t tell you how great/non-great the selections for alcohol were but what I can tell you about is the food!  Though, if the multiple frat boys coming in and out were any indication, I say it’s a pretty good one.

First off, sorry for the crap photos.  They looked good on my admittedly small view finder but on the laptop, they were way too dark so when I lightened them up, I saw that they were both dark and fuzzy.  Please forgive me.

Anyways, we started out with English Blue Chips, which are basically freshly made potato chips, which are sliced a little on the thick side, and a a sprinkle of blue cheese and chopped bacon on the top.  It was a good appetizer but it wasn’t warm enough for me – maybe it was left out too long?  I don’t know, I wasn’t in the kitchen but I may be insinuating that.

For my main meal, I was hoping to have London Broil but they were out of flank steak.

:0[

I didn’t know what else I wanted but the waitress was kind enough to make some suggestions of different meals, even offering to give it to me at the same price as the London Broil if the new dish was more.  I ended up going with the Bangers and Mash.  Basically, it’s two pork sausages that have been grilled and placed on a mound of mashed potatoes with a glob of cabbage sautéed in turmeric piled on top.  A tomato gravy was spooned on the backside of the dish.

Oh, my.  It was delicious.

I wish I could have gotten a better picture to show you how amazing this was.  The cabbage was possible the best part of the dish – crunchy and sour and . . . yum.  That’s all I got.  “Yum” just about sums it up.  The sausages were crispy but insanely juicy on the inside.  Even the mashed potatoes dipped in the tomato gravy blew my mind – I may have to learn to make this wonderful gravy.

Alec had the fish and chips.  First off, I love that this dish and the crisps from before were both served on a wax paper made to look like a newspaper.  Too cute!  I tried his dish as well and it was yummy, especially dipped in the lemon dill mayo.  What I loved the most was that the fish wasn’t as greasy as some other places – there were no disgusting grease marks everywhere after he was finished.

The best part, though, was the bill.  We were both beyond full by the end of it and the check was $21.00, pre-tip.  It was awesome.  I would definitely recommend the Royal Peasant to anyone who comes into the Athens area.  The wait staff is friendly and helpful, something that is hard to find in the college town, and the place is just so charming.  It’s not exactly the healthiest food but it’s priced well and really delicious, especially on a cold, rainy day.

To round out my by-the-food-pyramid dinner, I had this little gem.

Thank goodness for early Easter candy.

Oh, that creamy goodness!  I am so in heaven right now.  Come check up on me in about an hour and a half when I’ve just finished working out.  Yeesh.  That sausage probably wont help my week-long absence.

:0[

But first . . . a little bit of Tarzan with Alec and Harper.  :0]

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

