Breakfast and Review

Morning/afternoon!

Today is Saturday and it’s beautiful! Almost 65°F here and getting warmer.  Gorgeous.

:0]

Slept in late this morning so that was lovely and I actually had a real breakfast!

I packet of instant butter grits from Quaker, two slices of slightly toasted honey wheat toast with a smidgen of butter and apply jelly, and a sliced up orange.  Maybe it’s just me but the orange was really red, almost the color of a grape fruit, but it was definitely an orange.  Strange.

:0/

Hustled my way through a shower and a bazillion different outfit changes.  Ugh.  I hate laundry day.  And of course, when I finally finished being indecisive, I had to book it to get to work.  Wonderful.

Couple hours later and it was definitely lunch time.  I wasn’t too hungry but I’m going to movies and dinner with friends tonight and I know it’ll be awhile before I can eat again.  Seemed like a perfect time to try out the other Annie Chun’s noodle bowl.

This time around, I tried out the Noodle Express: Chinese Chow Mein.  On the cover, it boasts that it’s 100% natural, has no MSG or preservatives, and is ready in one minute, all of which are good factors for someone like me.  However, after the salty experience of last time, I was already a little hesitant about trying out this one.  I’m not much of a sodium girl, I guess.  But looking at the nutrition facts, I was brought to ease.

I do think it’s tricky that the facts are for only half the bowl – why would anyone only eat half of this small meal?  But the sodium was much lower than before, even though it’s still a little high for one thing.  And the calories were at lot better than the 600-ish from before.  I also liked that I understood all the ingredient in the list.

:0]

This is what comes inside the packet: pre-cooked Ramen noodles, a packet of dehydrated vegetables, and a packet of sauce.  I followed the instructions on how to microwave it and was excited for the results.

Needless to say, I wasn’t that impressed.  Once again, it was way too salty.  Not so much as the last bowl but too much for me to handle.  It did do a decent job of filling me up and smelled good but the salt is a factor that my hinder my buying of this line of products from now on.  I do believe, however, that this is a great alternative to some other microwavable meals but I may just stick to preparing my own.

The rest of the day is going to be pretty busy.  I’m going to visit a few friends for a birthday celebration and, knowing them, will probably have something really fattening for dinner but I’m still excited!  Hopefully I’ll be able to find something that isn’t too heart-attack inducing.

:0]

Oh, by the way!  Check out the giveaway at Living at t

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Food

Leave a Reply

