Oats and Juice

There are a few things that I’ve noticed from reading other people’s blogs – everyone seems to eat oatmeal.  I have never eaten oatmeal in my life – just never had the wish to.  But I do like oat-related foods – oatmeal cookies, no-bake cookies, etc.  Maybe it was because the majority of the foods that I had eaten/cooked/baked have been cookies or sweet related but I figured that I should try them.  I already had some oats from when I made my disasters cookies the other day, so this morning, I tried some oats.

Maybe I made them wrong but I’m just not digging it.  This is how I prepared them:

  • 1/2 a cup of quick oats
  • 3/4 a cup of water
  • Few shakes of cinnamon
  • Nuked it in the microwave for 2 minutes
  • Added a spoonful of peanut butter when the first bite didn’t do anything for me.

Did I do something wrong?  I guess so.  They just taste flavorless and like I’m chowing down on rubber.  But everyone raves about them so much!  I must have done something wrong.  Too much water?  Not enough?  Cooked them with milk instead of water?  Maybe I need to add something to it.  Sweet things.

:0]

To help the oats go down a little more smoothly, I had a glass of blueberry and pomegranate juice.

I’ve eaten a little over half of the oats but I’m probably not going to finish them.  I had a couple apple cinnamon flavored mini-rice cakes – if I could make the oats taste like that, I’d be good to go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Food

Leave a Reply

